Mirjam's home

House
Primary residence
11 Sleeps
4 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
180
2 simple beds
2 double beds
1 baby bed
2 simple extra beds
1 double extra bed

Description

Mirjam has described his/her home in English.

What you will love about this home

Warm, spacious, comfortable and rare 17th century townhouse in the heart of the old town of Haarlem, located between Amsterdam and the woods, dunes and sea.

The house is cozy, fully renovated and ideal for both couples/friends as well as for families with children every age. It is an adventurous place with wooden floors, warm sofa's, books, art and WIFI etc, all equipped for a lovely stay for guests.

The house consists of a large 130 m2 appartment and a lovely 50 m2 separate house at the ground floor. In total four bedrooms, including the masterbedroom, a guestroom and two adventurous childrens bedrooms with each a ladder to sous-sols for extra sleeping spaces and an extra toilet. In our little backhouse there is an extra livingroom with an extra tv and playstation and a separate kitchen and access to a tiny patio and a roof terrace.

What you will love in the neighborhood

Ideally located in the heart of the old and vibrant town of Haarlem with markets, canals, museums, nice shops, restaurants, great film- and theater house all around the house, though our house is peaceful and quiet. A great location for strolling around in Dutch city life in a 16th/17th century neighborhood, enjoy a breakfast in the coffee places around and see the old master paintings in the Frans Hals Museum or a great visit to the Teylers Museum, all on walking distance.

On an easy and nice bicycle ride from our house out of the centre the amazing protected nature area starts (the woods begin at 2,5 km), amazing dune lake with beach at 4 km, all the way to the sea and the trendy beaches of Bloemendaal aan Zee (8km) (beach takes 30 minutes by bicycle, 20 minutes by bus).
Amsterdam is 17-20 minutes by train (station near 5-10 minutes walk-trains go every ten minutes).
There is a great access between Schiphol airport and our house by 45 minute bus (number 300) between airport and Haarlem station close to our house.

Additional information

Things to do:

Culture
http://visithaarlem.org/sightssounds : The famous Frans Hals Museum and Teylers Museum
Windmill the Adriaen (nice walk)
Corrie ten Boom huis (behind our house, the Haarlem ' Anne Frank' story where the hiding place can be visited
Haarlem is one of the most beautifull old Dutch cities, for a walk through the old town. For a city walk check: https://en.freebeemap.nl/towns/haarlem/city-walk

Day trips to other Dutch cities: Amsterdam and Leyden (20 minutes) Delft, The Hague, Utrecht, Rotterdam

Fun for kids:
For young kids: Lovely playground near our house http://www.speeltuinhetparadijsje.nl/
For kids up to 13 a must: Europe's largest ' old fashion style playground' https://www.linnaeushof.nl/en/ (take bus 50 or 51 from the station, takes 20 minutes)

Markets and shopping
Haarlem is famous for its markets and shops (check esp the fun small ones and vintage shops in f.e the Kleine Houtstraat and the alleys)
https://www.haarlemmarketing.co.uk/discover-haarlem/shopping

Nature
Bicycle rides and walks in the dunes and woods of Zuid Kennemerland: http://www.np-zuidkennemerland.nl/299/en
There are many options.

Swimming
Dunelake Het Wed is amazing and near by for a swim, walk in the nature around and picknicks. Easy to reach by bicycle, bus or car www.haarlemmarketing.co.uk/locations/3246005651/recreatieplas-het-wed.
Beaches: the beaches of Bloemendaal aan Zee and Zandvoort are near by. Also nice to have dinner after a day at the beach
Swimmingpool near by: De Houtvaart (10 minutes by bike) http://www.sro.nl/accommodaties/zwembaden/haarlem/de-houtvaart/

Breakfast, lunches and dinners:
Too many options to mention!

Deposit 500 €
Insurance Required

Features

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Disabled access
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Garden
Swimming pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman
Cleaning person
Satellite / cable
Phone
Video game console
Balcony / terrace

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Start exchanging your home!

To organize a home exchange, you need to be a member