Helen's home ...colourful, seaviews, quiet location, parking

House
Primary residence
7 Sleeps
3 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
170 ft²
2 double beds
1 simple extra bed
1 double extra bed

Description

Helen has described his/her home in English.

What you will love about this home

My home is situated a stones throw from the centre of Aberystwyth, which is a 5 -10 minute walk away.
It is in a quiet residential no through road with plenty of parking space.
Outside the front of the house there is a seating area with a table and two chairs and pots with flowers in.
Behind the house is Dinas mountain so there are no other houses behind. The garden is terraced with seating on the bottom, and up the top where you can enjoy a fabulous view of Aberystwyth and the sea, the perfect spot to have a barbecue and enjoy the evening sun go down.
You can also see the sea and the sunset from the downstairs bay windowed lounge and the upstairs front bedroom.
Its a colourful house, not immaculately tidy but cosy.
It has two lounges which i use, one at the front of the house (one pink wall) with a bay window and a futon base with two futon mattresses for comfort as one of the sofas. Its a nice bright, light colourfull room with TV which catches the evening sun.
The other lounge as seen in the photo with the L shaped sofa (also has a TV), leads through to the kitchen, the back room with washing machine and tumble dryer, downstairs shower room and on up to the back terraced garden. This lounge also has access to a courtyard with table and chairs and assorted flowers in pots which can be seen when seated on the sofa through the french doors, which normally at this time of the year i like to leave open, so i can hear the birds chattering away throughout the day, this room gets the early morning sun, as it floods into the room around 7.30 in the morning lasting through till early afternoon.
The three bedrooms (besides the futon sofa bed in the front lounge downstairs) available are the:
Upstairs front room, view of the sea and sunset with a kingsize bed ( all my beds have good comfy mattresses feather quilts and 100% cotton sheets), there is a large pine table with a dresser on top, i keep my clothes in a chest of drawers outside the bedroom and do not have a wardrobe, allthough i shall put up some hanging space in the next week.
Middle bedroom my daughters, she has a queen size large single) mattress on the floor, a hanging rail, some shelving, chest of drawers and another storing space. Her bedroom overlooks the courtyard and you can also see up the garden.
Downstairs middle room is a room i have available for guests, as shown in the photo and overlooks the courtyard.
A fourth small single room is in the process of being re decorated and may be ready when you wish to stay.
I do not know what the square meteridge or footage of my house is, I just put down any figure because I had to.
There is a downstairs shower room and a small upstairs bathroom next to the small bedroom.
I have left my calender open for a large amount of the time, because allthough this is my home, i have a camper van i can use if you wish to stay in my home.

What you will love in the neighborhood

Aberystwyth is a lively place with plenty to see and do.
There is the sea front with its two sandy beaches North and South which you can enjoy and swim in.
There are two cycle/walking trails close by:
The Ystwyth Cycle Trail, 34 km is the river valley trail from Aberystwyth to Tregaron (starts at the end of my road) and the
Rheidol Cycle Trail, 28 km cycling route from Aberystwyth Harbour to Devil's Bridge. (a few minutes away)
For mountain biking there is Nant yr Arian and a number of trails around Machynlleth.
There are plenty of places to eat with various cafes and restaurants dotted all around Aberystwyth.
There is a cinema in Aberystwyth and at the Arts Centre up Penglais Hill.
The Art Centre holds many other events, besides the cinema it has a large hall and two theatre spaces, and holds a variety of arts and craft based events.
There are plenty of local lovely walks to enjoy in and around Aberystwyth.

Additional information

Allthough i think this house is ideal for families, i would like to point out.
The garden can get a little slippery when wet so you may need to watch your step and there is no balastrade along the terraces and the height from the top terrace to the next has a drop of about four foot (onto grass and flowers.)
The upstairs windows are tilt and turn windows so they open right in and there is no guards on the outside. I have never personally found this a problem with my daughter growing up from 6 months old as i never opened the windows on the in positon just used the tilt....i could put chains on them so they cannot be opened fully.
Also the stairs to the attic room from outside my room does not have a hand rail on it. (the attic room used to be a bedroom but is now full of stuff to sort out as i only moved back into my house after being away from it for six years, i shall try and board it up in the next few weeks but may not have time)
The downstairs back room beyond the kitchen as well as housing the washing machine and tumble dryer is also my tool room, so you may wish to keep this closed if you have young children.
These are all bits of information for you which i have not found to be a problem but i think it best to keep you properly informed
I am quite happy to send on more photos of the rest of the rooms in my house that are not up on this site if you are able to ring me and pass me on your email....i have only just signed up and not quite sure how this all works.

I have spent a lot of time and effort sorting out all my pots and flowers over the past few months so to whoever wishes to stay i would like to ask please that my pots are watered, especially if really sunny.
I have a tap on the first terrace attached to a hose for the pots there and for the pots in the courtyard. The pots out the front will have to be watered with the courtyard hose.
Obviously i would like to have cat lovers stay. My cat is rather nervous and not too keen on being picked up, he may hide away for a while, especially from roudy children. He is calm and gentle and likes to be treated the same way.

Deposit 500 €
Insurance Required

Features

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Disabled access
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Garden
Swimming pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman
Cleaning person
Satellite / cable
Balcony / terrace

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Start exchanging your home!

To organize a home exchange, you need to be a member