Harlingen Texas, near South Padre Island and Mexico

1 exchange
House
Primary residence
8 Sleeps
4 Bedrooms
3 Bathrooms
232
3 double beds
2 simple extra beds

Description

Edwin has described his/her home in English.

What you will love about this home

Lots of space (2500 sq. ft.), big back yard, very middle-class American domestic feel, close to Brownsville (20 minutes), South Padre Island (30 minutes), Mexico (30 minutes) and McAllen (30minutes)

What you will love in the neighborhood

The beach, 30 minutes away, white sand and lots of places to eat

Mexico, the shops, the awesome street food, subtropical landscapes, bird-watching...

Middle-sized city, world-class zoo nearby, easy to get around, great for exploring both Mexican and American culture (and the best Tex-Mex food to be had anywhere!).

Additional information

We have a big yet cozy place--four recliners, big flatscreen TV, weightlifting gym, tropical plants, fenced-in yard. As middle-class American as it gets. Heck, you’re even free to use my car (2008 Nissan Versa) but not in Mexico :-\. Instead, you’d park on this side of the border for a dollar or two and walk across where you’ll have tons of access to markets, shops, and restaurants. Let our home be your home during your stay--while we stay at your place (or just get your guest points while we stay someplace else). We have a maid you can use once a week for $60 each use but, really, we’re not clean freaks, so no worries. We really love all parts of Europe and are flexible with regard to summer dates between June and mid-August. We're animal lovers and have two cats who do their business outside--via a door flap. We also have a little garden that would need watering a few times a week. We also have a number of citrus trees from which you are free to eat, assuming they have fruit at that time..

We are both English teachers who teach at different high schools. Michelle and I are in our mid-40s, and our kids are 12 and 14--a boy and a girl. We take them with us when we travel and most recently went to Munich and traveled around Bavaria. I couldn't get enough so I really want to go back for a longer stay :-). Being fans of English literature as well, we have been to the UK several times, always taking our kids. They're real travel "experts" now. We both love to read and have Master's degrees in both literature and education. We want to make one four- or five-week trip between early June and mid-August, so we're flexible as to dates and wouldn't have to stay at your house the the whole trip if it isn't convenient for you.

Deposit 400 €
Insurance Required

Features

TV
WiFi
Dishwasher
Dryer
Washing machine
Microwave oven
Freezer
Oven
Fridge
Bathtub
Heating system
Disabled access
Baby gear
Computer
Internet
Garden
Swimming pool
BBQ
A/C
Fireplace
Elevator
Parking space
Car
Bicycle
Motorcycle
Doorman
Cleaning person
Satellite / cable
Video game console
Playground
Balcony / terrace
Gym

House rules

Smokers welcome
Pets welcome
Children welcome
Dog to feed
Cat to feed
Plants to water

Map

Ratings

Start exchanging your home!

To organize a home exchange, you need to be a member